Jharsuguda 2-hour rail line blockage affects rail services – The New Indian Express


By Express press service

JHARSUGUDA: On Thursday, more than 1500 protesters picketed the Howrah-Mumbai railway line passing through Brajrajnagar for about 14 hours to demand the resumption of the stopping of high-speed and express trains at Brajrajnagar station. Many trains on the route were delayed due to the blockade.

Led by the Brajrajnagar Citizen Committee and supported by clubs, civic groups and political party members, the protest continued from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. As a sign of solidarity, under the aegis of the Brajrajnagar Merchants Association, all commercial establishments in the city have closed their shutters.

Protesters said that after the Covid outbreak in 2020, the stopping of many high-speed and express trains at Brajrajnagar station was canceled by the railway authorities. “Even when things have normalized, trains continue to pass without stopping at Jharsuguda station, inconveniencing a large population,” they alleged. Earlier, a meeting was also held between Railways, administrative officers and members of Brajrajnagar Citizens Committee to resume the shutdown but to no avail, he added.

A battalion of railway police and another contingent of local police were deployed at the stations but the protesters did not give in. SDPO Gupteshwar Bhoi, DSP Baikunth Seth and Senior DCM Vipul Suskar spoke to protesters for dialogue. Jharsuguda Collector Saroj Kumar Samal and SP Rahul Jain also contacted Bilaspur South East Central Railway Division DRM to resolve the issue. Around 6 p.m., the DRM verbally assured the demonstrators to address their demands following which the tracks were released.

At 6 p.m., 17 demonstrators were arrested. Although trains have resumed, railway officials declined to comment on the matter. Among those who participated in the protest were former Brajrajnagar MP Radharani Panda, Brajrajnagar Municipality Chairman Jagyasini Oram, Congress Town Chairman Pramod Panda, former Municipality Chairman NK Agarwal and Secretary General of the Brajrajnagar Coal Mine Workers’ Union Anit Chakraborty.

Delayed trains

Azad Hind Express bound for Bilaspur at Ib Railway Station

Howrah-Ahmedabad Express to Jharsuguda

Ahmedabad-Howrah Express to Belpahar

Utkal Express

Bihar South Express

Tata Itawari Passenger


About Author

Comments are closed.