Lund tram receives 2021 Architecture Award


Lund tram receives 2021 Architecture Award

The Swedish city has been credited with the ‘seemingly impossible task’ of installing a tram in its historic city center

At the Swedish Architects’ Architecture Gala on April 7, the Swedish Transport Administration (Trafikverket) awarded the Lund Tramway (Spårvägen) the 2021 Architecture Prize. According to the jury, the tram – which connects the historic city center with the new ESS research center in Brunnshög – is an example of how public transport equipment can become an element of urban construction that extends the city without creating barriers.

“Lund Tram has succeeded in the seemingly impossible task of integrating rail public transport into a city center of high cultural and historical value, through new development areas and up to the new ESS research centre. It was a brave decision to invest in the tramway, but I also want to underline the importance of the architectural work which was crucial for the good final result”, shared Johan Folkesson, landscape architect and president of the jury.


Inspired by modern European tram stations, the Lund Tram combines aesthetics, safety and functionality. Additionally, it takes into consideration the design and layout of the city’s public spaces, ensuring that transit equipment can blend into the urban landscape in a way that enhances its aesthetic qualities.

On its website, the Swedish city reports that the tram consists of a 5.5 kilometer double track and features 9 stops: Lund C, University Hospital, LTH, Ideontorget, Telefonplan, Solbjer, Brunnshögstorget, MAX IV and ESS. Travel to a average speed of 21.5 kilometers per hourthe public transport service can run from the first to the last stop in approximately 14.5 minutes.

To go further, each of the trams has a unique name and is 33 meters long. Given this length, it is not surprising that they can carry 200 passengers and, therefore, have the same capacity as 4 city buses.

See the gallery above for photographs of the 2021 Architecture Prize winner.


About Author

Comments are closed.